5 Books That Have Influenced Me

I almost have 50 followers! How crazy is that? It’s pretty ludicrous when considering that a month or two ago I had absolutely none. I’ve built it up by following people, commenting, and just being genuinely interested in other blogs. I love this feeling of community and I want to keep it going!

ANYWHO.

Three years ago I got into reading again, all because of one book called..

1. Do Cool Shit

It’s true. I picked this beauty up one day during my sophomore year of college and it absolutely changed my life and got me reading again. Miki Agrawal writes about her life as a budding entrepreneur who’s never started her own business before.

It’s great because of all the creative stunts she pulls to get her restaurant off the ground, and her general outlook on life. Her message made me wake up from my robotic slumber and realize that there’s more than one way to arrive at a destination, and you can have fun doing it!

2. The 4 Hour Workweek

Yep, this one was a quick read for me. Join the “new rich” as Timothy Ferris says–the kind of people that don’t own homes or cars or expensive things, but who see the world and live off of passive income. This will change your perspective on life, travelling, and work.

3. The Autobiography of Ben Franklin

Those who know me know that Ben Franklin’s my idol. He was an extraordinary scientist, businessman, politician, and traveller. He dined with kings, and was the first true American baller. If you ever need some pick me up, just read Ben Franklin’s story about how he came from nothing and became a legend.

4. How To Win Friends And Influence People

If only everyone in the world could read this book. Entertaining, useful, and iconic, this book written by Dale Carnegie will teach you how to swerve clear of many conflicts in your life while also winning friends at the same time. You’ll learn how to navigate difficult situations and get people to do what you want them to do without them even realizing it.

5. How To Fail At Everything And Still Win Big

You may have never heard of this book, but it’s written by the guy who made the popular cartoon called Dilbert. It’s one of the first books I read along with Do Cool Shit three years ago, and it taught me that you shouldn’t really listen to anyone and pave your own way–failing as many times as you can until you make it. Powerful words.

That’s it! Those are my five books. What are some books that have influenced you? I’m always looking to read some more good books. Leave them in the comments below!

Author: tk1208

Currently living in Orlando, Fl. Full-time copywriter, freelance writer, journalist, and blogger.

3 thoughts on “5 Books That Have Influenced Me”

Leave a comment