Post-Grad Survival Guide: Patience

A goal of this blog is to provide inspiration for those who recently graduated and want to take control of their own lives. I’ve been able to have sporadic success on my own as a freelance writer, but that doesn’t mean I have off periods!

It’s only right that I show both sides of my struggle–and honestly all graduates go through both good and bad times.

I think I have the most trouble with patience. I keep thinking about where I want to be instead of how far I’ve come. Have you done the same?

Chances are you’ve come so long since you graduated whether that was a year, two years, or three years ago, but you may be focused on landing a “better job.” Don’t do that! It takes a lot of hard work to get that perfect job–it won’t come overnight.

While it’s so awesome to demand the most out of ourselves, we also have to give ourselves a break when we’re really feeling the heat. We’re trying, aren’t we?

I’m not even a year out from graduating and I’m trying to build my own standalone copywriting business. Every day I make new mistakes. Every day I’m learning how to do new things. Sometimes I let that negative self-talk get to me, but I shouldn’t!

Many successful copywriters that I look up to are twice my age. You may be trying to start your own business too, and trust me the success won’t come overnight.

We’re in the “grinding” stage of our lives right now. This is just my reminder to everyone to have a little patience. And I’m not saying that because I think I’m better than you, in fact, I’m probably doing much worse financially than most of my peers. I’m just saying that to encourage you guys and put some positive energy back into the mix!

Thanks for reading!

 

Author: tk1208

Currently living in Orlando, Fl. Full-time copywriter, freelance writer, journalist, and blogger.

3 thoughts on “Post-Grad Survival Guide: Patience”

  1. Thanks for writing this! I just graduated about 6 months ago and am working as a server an retail while I volunteer to build up experience in my field. It is so hard sometimes not to obsess over where I think I should be by now or beat myself up about not having my dream job yet. I definitely need to work on patience. Even though my jobs right now aren’t exactly what I want to be doing, I do enjoy them and the people that I work with. And the hours are flexible so I can still find time to work in my field (for no pay haha). I am glad I read your post, it let me know that I am not alone in feeling this way. I hope I can take some deep breathes and be more patient in the future. I know eventually I will be doing what I love, but for now I’ll try love what I’m doing!

    Thanks again!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That means so much to me that I could help you feel better! It may take us a few years to really even begin to get where we want to go, and that’s okay. It also may come quicker than we think 🙂 Thanks so much for reading. I’ll follow you to keep up with what you’re doing!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This resonates with me so much! I have been between jobs after graduating and still trying to figure out whether I just want to drop everything and finish my book.
    It’s honestly great to know that I’m not alone in this boat of trying to be patience. I so agree that we often forget the long path we’ve traveled and where we’ve come and instead keep pressuring ourselves about the future!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

