Clearwater Beach: My Happy Place


Out of all the beaches in Florida, Clearwater is my favorite.

It’s just an hour and a half down the road from Orlando, and it’s home to white beaches, the first Hooters, and yeah that’s about it.

I’ll be honest, after living in Maryland my whole life I’ve never seen a good beach. All I’ve ever seen was sand that looked like wet mud.

Not in Clearwater though. It’s white here.

IMG_0766.jpg
The view from the parking garage. Sick right?

First of all, we drove on a saturday.

Translation:

Traffic was crazy.

It took us about three hours to get to Clearwater, and we finally put our umbrella in the sand by three o’clock. I wrote in my journal, read a little, then played a glorious game of football on the beach with all the people that came with us.

I’m two days removed from this madness and my legs are still squealing in pain every time I stand up.

IMG_0761.jpg

Unbeknownst to me, one of our friends managed to bring a few girls over who ended up watching us all play. I didn’t really pay much mind, but when we were about to leave one of them asked for a picture with me. How awesome?

IMG_3535.jpgMy hair almost has a mind of its own I swear. Anyway, we kinda dispersed then I got into the water–which was freaking freezing. This time of year the water on the west coast of Florida is a little cold. I went to Miami two months ago and the water was insanely warm there, though. I’m (barely) a writer, not a scientist, so I can’t really explain it to you.

IMG_0769.jpg

Anyway, Clearwater is pretty commercialized, too. There’s a lot of beach shops and restaurants to go to, and the beach itself is pretty crowded most times we go. But then again it is March.

I love Clearwater, I always will. IMG_0758.jpgIMG_0757.jpgIMG_0770.jpg

 

Author: tk1208

Currently living in Orlando, Fl. Full-time copywriter, freelance writer, journalist, and blogger.

1 thought on “Clearwater Beach: My Happy Place”

Leave a Reply

