Planning My Road Trip

Ugh, this is pretty difficult I must say. For those of you just tuning in, I’m planning to travel from Orlando to Los Angeles this summer. In my car. It’s going to be glorious.

I’ve decided I’ll rely pretty heavily on couch surfing, and I’ll break my trip up into small bits, stopping at bigger cities along the way.

From Orlando to Los Angeles, here are the cities I’ll be stopping at:

  • New Orleans
  • Houston
  • San Antonio
  • El Paso
  • Tucson
  • Phoenix

Some are longer in distance than the other. For instance, San Antonio is just two hours from Houston, but New Orleans is 8 hours from Orlando. It’s a choppy way to break it up, but I think it’ll work.

The Numbers

Miles: 2,507
Hours: 35
Days: 34
Departure: June 6
Arrival: July 10

My first day of the trek will be an eight hour drive to New Orleans. I’ll really be “out here,” so to speak, and I’ll get to meet my first couch surfing host then. I plan on cooking them dinner every night and helping them do chores around the house! Really anything they want me to do, I’ll do.

Pacing

For pacing, I should be travelling 73 miles per day, but that doesn’t matter because I’ll be driving from city to city.

As for what to expect, I really don’t know what to expect. Each city is just a name to me, I don’t have the slightest clue what they’re really like. But I’ll do research in the coming days!

Return Journey

I don’t even have a plan for the return journey. I want to go camping a lot out west and stuff, but I still don’t know. It’s just going to be one crazy American adventure.

I’ll leverage Airbnb every now and then, but I’ll try to keep that to a minimum.

Why Los Angeles?

Oh, and why LA do you ask? It’s because I’m going to meet my best friends for a reunion in Disney Land, which I’ll write about in the blog as well.

That’s what I got done today! It’s nice to have some sort of plan moving forward. Thanks for reading!

Author: tk1208

Currently living in Orlando, Fl. Full-time copywriter, freelance writer, journalist, and blogger.

3 thoughts on “Planning My Road Trip”

Leave a Reply

