I’m Writing A Movie Script!

This blog is literally all over the place, but that’s fine. I haven’t posted much in the past few days because I’ve been consumed with writing a movie script.

That’s right–a movie script that will probably never be made. In fact there’s probably like a .01% chance of it getting made. But that doesn’t matter because it’s providing me with endless entertainment.

I seriously never knew writing movies could be so fun. Whenever I write stories in a traditional novel form they always suck, but when I write visually for the screen it’s better because I can envision the whole movie happening in my head so well.

I just love movies guys.

As you may know the Oscars were last night, and Inside Out, one of my favorite movies of the year, won for best animated feature. Director Pete Doctor came up to the stage and said this to close out his speech:

“Anyone out there who’s in junior high, high school, working it out, suffering. There are days you’re gonna feel sad, angry and scared, that’s nothing you can choose. But you can make stuff, make films, draw, write. It will make a world of difference.”

When he said that I almost stood up and clapped from my couch. It IS true that when we create things we feel better–and in the case of this movie script, that’s totally on the mark. I’m going through a bit of a slow time in my freelancing career, but writing is making a world of difference on my mood while I sit in Orlando trying to figure my life out.

I’m about 60 pages into my script, which basically means I’m more than halfway done. I must admit however that I have a very basic understanding of formatting, and I’m basically writing as quickly as I can to get my thoughts down before they escape me.

There will be revisions. There will be more drafts. Much of it will be deleted. But it’s fun.

What’s it about you ask?

It’s about a lot of things. It’ll be tough to explain until I finish. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to get right back at it!

 

Author: tk1208

Currently living in Orlando, Fl. Full-time copywriter, freelance writer, journalist, and blogger.

3 thoughts on “I’m Writing A Movie Script!”

  1. There are a few good places to get format ideas that I can suggest 🙂 and FutureLearn are currently running a FREE global two week course, provided by the University of East Anglia, on scriptwriting 🙂 best of luck with your movie, I am writing several too

    Like

Leave a Reply

