Florida, You’re Beautiful: Captiva Island

Well, for anybody that doesn’t know, I love Florida with all my heart. I live in Orlando but I make day trips to Clearwater, Ft. Myers, and Cocoa Beach quite often. I’ve even been known to hit up Miami every now and then too.

So, to start stretching my travel blog muscles, I’ve decided to document my trip to Captiva Island, which took place yesterday.

IMG_0313
8 a.m. in Captiva

First off we got up at the crack of dawn, which wasn’t something I initially liked, but we had to do it because we were going on a Captiva Cruise to a secret island. And boy, was this place secret.

IMG_0387.jpg
Secret walkway

The island’s name was Cayo Costa, and the ride to get over there took just 30 minutes. On the way we got to see dolphins, the place where salt water and fresh water meet, and crazy-big houses lining the beach.

IMG_0373.jpg
My sister looking out at the homes

The guys ferrying us over were ecstatic, too. Overall we got to spend two hours on the beach, and below are a few of my pictures I took of this hidden gem.

IMG_0386.jpgIMG_0392.jpgIMG_0383.jpg

IMG_0382.jpg
No crowds

I wish I would’ve taken a few more, but I only had two hours to enjoy myself.

After our two hour trip we came back to Captiva and sat on the beach all day. For those who don’t know, Sanibel/Captiva Island is near Ft. Myers, and it’s absolutely gorgeous there. If you’re new to Florida, or know but just haven’t been, I highly recommend visiting!

Here are a few more pictures from my trip:

IMG_0322.jpgIMG_0324.jpgIMG_0396.jpgIMG_0402.jpgIMG_0364.jpg

IMG_0372.jpgIMG_0337.jpgIMG_0355.jpg

Thanks for reading!

Author: tk1208

Currently living in Orlando, Fl. Full-time copywriter, freelance writer, journalist, and blogger.

Leave a Reply

