I Want To Go To Dublin

Dublin. It needs to happen. For people that may have read my previous stuff, you already know I’m going to Ireland in August. In short I plan to do Ireland for a month, then do Germany for a month, then do a mystery country for my last month.

I really want to have that mystery country figured out soon. I’m thinking Greece. Or Italy. Or some other random place. I really don’t know.

Anyway, I want to go to Dublin. I picked up one of those guides to Ireland and thought I’d skim through it a bit and the first city they went over was, (surprise!) Dublin.

It’s Compact

Oh Dublin. Apparently it’s very small and compact. Everything is located within a few square kilometers of each other, making it a fantastic place to walk around in. A few places I want to see are the Dublin Writers Museum, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, and a football game at Croke Park Stadium.

464127609_5bdcef6d1b_b.jpg
St. Patrick’s Cathedral

I also want to go Temple Bar, which is apparently a great place for nightlife in Dublin. On Grafton Street there’s a bunch of shops to guy buy stuff at, so naturally I’m gonna have to take a little trip over there.

Transportation

There’s a pretty nice bus system that runs from 6 a.m. to 11:30 p.m. every day located inside the city. Apparently the bus stops are at these blue and green lollipop-looking places scattered throughout the streets. I guess I’ll figure it out when I get there. Oh, and I need to bring exact change.

20080922b.jpg
Dublin Bus Stop

Oh wait! There’s one. I see what the guy meant now.

Overall, this place seems pretty cool and I’m glad I got the broad strokes out of the way. Realistically I plan to stay there for about a week to two weeks. Will I get bored of the damn place? Probably not. It seems like two weeks is the perfect amount of time.

Author: tk1208

Currently living in Orlando, Fl. Full-time copywriter, freelance writer, journalist, and blogger.

Leave a Reply

