I Want To Go To Bundoran

So, I think I found the most perfect destination in Ireland all on accident. I went on Airbnb and searched for rooms in Ireland–and I found a nice little private room in Bundoran for $450 a month. It piqued my interest, and as I knew nothing about the place I wanted to investigate.

It turns out this place is pretty freaking awesome.

Surfing is huge there, and while I don’t surf I love the lifestyle of being near the beach very much. That’s why I moved to Florida–because there’s beaches one hour in every direction.

In Bundoran there’s clubs, pubs, kayaking, bowling, eating, movies–pretty much everything you could possibly imagine.

I think what really attracts me to this place is how it’s not Dublin, or any other major city. It’s kind of just there, minding its own business, right in northern Ireland. I knew this is what I wanted from the start. I’m not trying to do every single tourist thing in Europe–I want to breathe, take a second, and immerse myself.

That’s why long bus trips and busy schedules don’t exactly appeal to me. I don’t want to get over there and run around all the time, but at the same time I do want to see a few touristy things. After all, that’s why they’re the touristy things, right? Because they’re awesome?

Anyway one of the things I really want to do in Bundoran is go kayaking. It costs about €35 per person for 1-3 hours of paddling. Bomb. It’s happening.

Another cool thing is what’s called the Wild Atlantic Way in Ireland. Apparently there’s this long stretch of road that hugs the Western and Northern border of the country that’s incredibly scenic. It snakes from Kinsale at the bottom all the way up to Derry at the top.

Maybe I could rent a car or something and do that?

I think it’s safe to say I have a long way to go before I understand everything Ireland has to offer–but I made great progress today with it.

Author: tk1208

Currently living in Orlando, Fl. Full-time copywriter, freelance writer, journalist, and blogger.

Leave a Reply

